Mint & Rose ‘Cherbat’ Lemonade

In the last year I’ve become a fan of homemade lemonades & cordials/squash because a) I can control the amount of sugar, b) it gets Felix & I drinking more water, and c) I know exactly what ingredients are in it. In regards to cordials, I generally find that there aren’t the same choices here in comparison to the UK. I grew up with bottles of Robinsons orange squash, lemon barley water and Ribena (mmm. hot Ribena!), whilst here there are these packs of weird frozen concentrates. It’s just not the same. So anyway, don’t be surprised if I post up a few drinks recipes over the coming months. I have some with peach, with cranberry and with lavender.. Plus more importantly I know some of the ‘guys at the office’ (aka my guinea pigs since last summer), have been wanting to make them at home. Sorry for the delay Daniel!  1926657_539640856631_6069702735846357058_n

Well this Saturday we had one of our Table de Cuisines pop up events & although I normally just have wine, I didn’t feel like it this time round. So in keeping with the theme of the meal, I planned to make some Norwegian Snarøl, a fermented ‘quick beer’. The problem was this meant I needed a bottle of non-alcoholic malt drink. I know a couple of shops near Jean Talon market that probably have it, but long story short, I wasn’t anywhere close to that area during the week and our local Hochelaga South American grocery store was still shut for the holidays…(when I do get my hand on some, I’ll let you know!)10422548_539640841661_5104259854954883555_n

So after scouring the internet for an alternative breuvage that I could quickly whip up the night before, I decided to make this Algerian influenced ‘limonada’ or ‘cherbat’ drink. Mint tea initially came to mind, but I knew I wanted something cold to drink whilst I nibbled my way through all the different dishes. This fit the bill as it’s basically a not-too-sweet, mint lemonade with a bit of a flowery undertone. Unfortunately I didn’t have any orange blossom water handy, but next time I’ll definitely try throwing a teaspoon in as several articles I read suggested it. It’s quick, no fuss & a nice change to good ‘ol tap water.

10544397_539640891561_4144372282294784455_n  10250129_539640876591_4990025338025865358_n

Mint & Rose ‘Cherbat’ Lemonade
Depending on the lemons you have, you may find it a bit too sharp. If so, just add a bit more sugar, otherwise you could simply dilute it or even have it as a refreshing spritzer.

Juice of 4 lemons
1/4 cup sugar
3-4 sprigs of fresh mint
1 cup of boiling water
2 cups cold water
1tsp dried edible rose petals
small pinch of cinnamon (optional)

  1. Put the lemon juice & rose petals into a bottle or jug.
  2. In a measuring jug, lightly muddle the sugar with the mint leaves, then add the boiled water.
  3. Stir till the sugar has dissolved.
  4. Add the 2 cups of cold water & then pour it all into the lemon & rose juice.
  5. Taste & adjust sugar as necessary. Chill in the refrigerator & serve cold.
Leave a Reply

