Garlic ginger prawns

I love shellfish. But unfortunately my better half has an intolerance to shellfish & crustaceans.
Therefore I never get to have prawns, crab, mussels, lobster & such for dinner, unless we are out at a restaurant. HOWEVER, as I’m at home for lunch most days, I can use this meal to indulge in whatever I want. Ha!

We have great seafood in the UK but I’ve found that here in Québec we are really lucky to have access to PEI mussels, gorgeous oysters, amazing snow crabs (wow they’re HUGE ), and plenty of lobster & shrimp/prawns (whatever name you prefer) whenever they’re in season. Plus I find shellfish to be very good value in comparison to England, but it’s possibly because there’s a higher demand & consumption here.

So sometimes for lunch I quickly cook up some prawns & mop up the juicy leftover sauce with a slice of bread. If I have some fresh prawns that’s great, but I always keep some frozen ones in the freezer so I can whip up a quick lunch for myself anytime.. easy peasy.

Garlic Ginger Prawns/Shrimp
This basic recipe is also good with crab. I like to sometimes throw in a few kampot peppercorns if I have some & a pinch or two of sugar to give it a slight glaze.
Serves 1

A good handful of uncooked prawns*, 250-300g ish should do it depending on how hungry you are.
Large clove of garlic, finely chopped
Small knob of fresh ginger, finely chopped
1 tbsp Olive oil or butter
Salt & freshly ground pepper
Small dash of rice wine vinegar
Optional toppings: Coriander, Parsley, finely chopped spring onion,

  1. If they are a bit wet, dry the prawns with some kitchen roll and then set aside.
  2. In a frying pan, heat the oil/melt the butter.
  3. Add the garlic & ginger, followed by the prawns.
  4. Season well & stir, cooking them for about 2-3 minutes. You will see the colour of the prawns change colour as they cook.
  5. Mix in a dash of rice wine vinegar, plus any additional herbs that you may want.
  6. Serve immediately, ideally with some bread to mop up the juices. Bon appétit.

* If using frozen prawns, you can defrost them pretty quickly in a bowl of cold water. Otherwise, leave to defrost in the fridge overnight in a sealed container.

Leave a Reply

