Almond milk porridge

I love my bread, but I find it that it doesn’t really keep me going for very long in the morning. If I have a busy day ahead where I need to study French, get something done or I’m hungry after a morning run, porridge seems to do the job. I guess this isn’t really news for many people, but I remember as a kid I wasn’t always the biggest fan. I think I had this idea implanted in me that porridge was always going to be a boring gruel-like mush similar to the one that Oliver Twist & his orphan pals had to eat in the classic Dicken’s movie.

Well anyway, as an adult, I’ve realised that I do like a good bowl of porridge now & then. One of the best I had was in a hotel years ago (in the Lake District, I think?) where they served it plain, with three cute little jugs. One with honey, another with full fat cream & the third.. whisky! It was crazy good, but I doubt the nutritionists out there would approve of this as an everyday breakfast!

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 presetNormally I like to throw on some chopped banana or dates or whatever is handy really, just to add that needed oomph. For a while over the summer we decided to cut down on the amount of wheat and dairy we were consuming so I started making almond milk porridge. To be honest, it’s just less creamy than using milk.. (or cream!) and tastier than using just water. I find that dates add a nice amount of natural sugar to my porridge but sometimes a nice drizzle of maple syrup is always good. You can of course use honey, but now I’m living in Montréal it makes sense to use maple.. and because I like it.. nom nom nom.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Almond Milk Porridge (serves 1)

50g porridge oats*
150ml almond milk (soy/coconut/normal milk/cream..as you like)
100ml water
A tiny pinch of salt
Toppings: Chia seeds, pumpkin seeds, banana chips, maple syrup, honey, dates..

Cooking option #1
Mix the oats, milk, water & salt in a bowl.
Microwave on high for about 3 min.
Leave to sit for a couple of minutes before adding your desired toppings.

Cooking option #2
Mix the oats, milk, water & salt in a small pot.
Simmer on a low heat for about 5-8 minutes, stirring regularly with a wooden spoon.
Leave to sit for a couple of minutes before adding your desired toppings.
*If you have the time, before adding the liquids you can lightly toast your oats in the dry pot until they are fragrant (3min). It will bring out the flavour of the oats a lot more.

Leave a Reply

